Shropshire County Cricket Club Logo

Lewis Evans to captain Shropshire Academy against Shropshire County Cricket League XI


Shrewsbury’s Lewis Evans will captain Shropshire’s Academy team in their final fixture of the season this weekend.

The Academy side face a Shropshire County Cricket League Representative XI in a 50 overs per side match at Whitchurch CC on Sunday (11am).

Evans is one of four players selected, along with Ben Lees, Matty Simmonds and Charlie Walker, to have played for Shropshire’s first team in the NCCA Championship this season.

Both sides have selected 12 players for Sunday’s game, with a nominated non-batsman, while the teams will be able to rotate players in the field.

Shropshire Academy: Lewis Evans (Shrewsbury, captain), Tyler Ibbotson (Shrewsbury), Matt Lamb (Wellington), Ben Lees (Bridgnorth, wicketkeeper), Sam Papps (Newport), Matt Rees (Worfield), Alex Selby (Oswestry), Matty Simmonds (Bridgnorth), Joe Smallman (Bridgnorth), Brad Thornton (Shrewsbury), Luke Thornton (Shrewsbury), Charlie Walker (Bridgnorth).

Pictured: Whitchurch CC will host Shropshire Academy’s match against a Shropshire County Cricket League Representative XI on Sunday.