Shropshire County Cricket Club Logo

Shropshire CCC

A history of Shropshire County Cricket Club

On June 28, 1956, the members of the Shropshire Cricket Association took the bold, but not unexpected, decision to disband their own organisation and to establish in its place a County Cricket Club which would apply for entry to the Minor Counties Championship the following season.

The Association had itself been founded less than six years earlier with exactly this aim in mind, intended to restore the cricketing status that had been lost when the original County Club, although quickly re-formed as The Gentlemen of Shropshire CC, was wound up in 1905.

Today, Shropshire County Cricket Club are established members of the National Counties Cricket Association and play three-day Championship matches each season while also competing in the one-day NCCA Trophy and the NCCA Twenty20 competition.

Shropshire have won the Championship on one occasion in 1973 and lifted the Knockout Trophy in 2010 by beating Lincolnshire by seven wickets in the final which was played at Durham County Cricket Club’s Chester-le-Street ground.

Board of directors

Andrew Huxley

President and Chairman of the Board

John Hulme

Chairman of the Cricket Club

Simon Aucott

Finance Director

Richard Lees

Operations Director

Chris Wiseman

Membership Liaison Director

Ed Home

Director of Cricket

County Cricket Board Representative

Steve Reece Lead Officer

Sub Committees


Dave Nock, Rod Jones, Kevin O`Connell, Ed Ashlin and 1st XI Captain


Becky Preece


Phil Lloyd (Registrations)


Become a Shropshire CCC member.


View a sample of the latest handbook.


Download the 2022 Accounts.